Back to School (soon)

534438_448395911846767_44903550_nAs most of you are aware the summer is ending which also means it is time to begin preparing to be back into schools.  What I wonder is how school psychologists are preparing for another school year.

I will be entering into my internship this year so I will see a lot of that preparation in action but how do you prepare in the weeks before?

Here are a few other questions I am curious about:

  • How do you keep all of your meetings organized?
  • What references do you find yourself using the most during the school year?
  • What new tool kits have you ordered for this school year?
  • What trainings do you plan on attending this year?

I love hearing your feedback!  Feel free to answer all or any of the questions in the comment section of this post.

Thanks for listening,

The Student Voice

2 responses

  1. Good luck on internship–you’ll rock it!

    –How do you keep all of your meetings organized?
    First, the date gets highlighted in my calendar. We plan out a month at a time, depending on when consents come in. Once we have an agenda, I keep a printed copy in an easily accessible folder. On the copy, I make short-hand notations in a column of all that needs to be done for each kiddo next to their name (i.e. “O” for observation, “T” or “C” for test or consult, FBA/BIP, IEP) and as things are completed, I cross them off. I keep a hanging manila folder for every kid on the agenda organized by their meeting date in the drawer right next to my chair, in order of meeting time. When I’m preparing for a meeting date, I put all the protocols and other documents I need for each kid in their folder before I go to town. I also mark in the inside of the folder the purpose of the meeting and any relevant info, plus dates when things like a teacher report or behavior rating scale were handed out. As I get things back, I cross them off so I know if I need to hunt people down or not!

    –What references do you find yourself using the most during the school year?
    I reference Sattler’s “Assessment of Children: WISC-IV and WPPSI-III” supplement occasionally if I want a different way to describe an ability, but I mostly rely on colleagues and teammates.

    –What new tool kits have you ordered for this school year?
    I haven’t ordered anything, but I have a new WPPSI-IV that I’ve used a few times and a new-to-me NEPSY-II that I’m looking forward to trying out.

    –What trainings do you plan on attending this year?
    My district has a lot of mandatory PBIS trainings throughout the year, so I’ll be at those, as well as building level professional development. We’re going to restart our PBIS program at my building with the support of our new principal, so I’m sure there will be lots of turn-keying! I won’t be able to attend the NASP or NYASP annual conferences this year, but plan on organizing events within NYASP Chapter C and partnering with nearby Chapters to maximize our efforts!

Leave a Reply

